Heritage & History

The Towns With Heart area comprises the seven towns of Abermain, Heddon Greta, Kurri Kurri, Neath, Pelaw Main, Stanford Merthyr and Weston, all of which owe their existence to the discovery and development of the valuable Greta Coal Seam.

The towns were originally established to house the coalminers working in the many collieries that were opened on the newly established South Maitland Coalfields, known today as simply the Coalfields.

The coalmining heritage is still evident in the architecture, design, civic buildings and cultural facilities throughout the Towns With Heart area. There are many examples of the heritage hotels that provide a link to the coalmining past, reflecting a time when the coal mines or ‘pits’ employed thousands of men and boys.